Completed · United Kingdom · Energy and utilities
E.ON acquires OVO.
Essen-based energy group E.ON completed on 8 October 2026 its purchase of UK household energy supplier OVO, agreed in May 2026, after the UK Competition and Markets Authority cleared the deal at phase 1 on 1 October. The deal completed on 8 October 2026.
SigningDay 100
Signing 11 May 2026 · Day 100 on 16 January 2027
- Buyer
- E.ON SE ·Essen, Germany
- Target
- OVO Energy Ltd ·Bristol, United Kingdom
- Type
- Acquisition
- Announced
- 11 May 2026
- Signed
- 11 May 2026
- Completed
- 8 October 2026
- Value
- Not disclosed
- People
- Not stated in the release
- Last checked
- 28 October 2026
The people side in the United Kingdom
- In a business transfer or service provision change, staff move to the buyer on their existing terms; a dismissal solely or mainly because of the transfer is unfair. Transfer of Undertakings (Protection of Employment) Regulations 2006, regulations 4 and 7
- Long enough before a TUPE transfer, the employer informs staff representatives and consults on any measures envisaged; failure can cost up to 13 weeks' pay per affected employee. Transfer of Undertakings (Protection of Employment) Regulations 2006, regulations 13 and 16
- Acas guidance says TUPE is not likely to apply to a transfer of shares only, as in a share deal. Acas: TUPE, advice for employers and employees
- Buying over 25% of an entity in one of 17 sensitive areas in the UK needs approval before completion, or the deal is void; the first review takes up to 30 working days. GOV.UK: Check if you need to tell the government about an acquisition that could harm the UK's national security (National Security and Investment Act 2021)
- A business that starts employing staff in the UK registers with HMRC as an employer before the first payday, and not more than 2 months before it starts paying people. GOV.UK: Register as an employer
Sources
Related deals
DateBuyer and targetStageSigning to Day 100People
- 8 Oct
Drilling Tools International Corp.to
Saltire Energy Limited and Foxley Energy Limiteddeal page: Drilling Tools International agrees to acquire SaltireSigned
not statedSigningDay 100 - 19 Oct
Merck KGaAto
Silence Therapeutics plcdeal page: Merck KGaA agrees to acquire Silence TherapeuticsSigned
not statedSigningDay 100 - 6 Oct
APCOAto
UK Parking Patroldeal page: APCOA to acquire UK Parking PatrolAnnounced
not statedSigningDay 100 - 28 Oct
EVERSANAto
Estima Scientific Ltddeal page: EVERSANA acquires Estima ScientificCompleted
not statedSigningDay 100